The Old Testament prophets are usually divided into the four ‘major’ prophets  (Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel and Daniel) and the twelve ‘minor’ prophets at the end of the Old Testament.


The Old Testament prophets tell of:

  • the decline of the kingdoms of Israel and Judah.

  • the fall of Israel, the northern kingdom with its capital Samaria, to Assyria with its capital in Nineveh.

  • the fall of Assyria and the rise of the Babylonians.

  • the fall of Judah, the southern kingdom with its capital Jerusalem, to Nebuchadnezzar and the Babylonians.

  • of the moving of power from Babylon to Persia and the Medes and of the coming Greek and Roman rule.

Arise, Shine by Rani Samuel 

There are some common themes in the prophetic books:

* God speaks through the prophets - the prophets saw themselves as messengers of God.

* God is the covenant God and Israel is his chosen people - but Israel has sinned against God and turned away.

* Judgment is seen as a consequence of this sin, but if the people seek God they will live - renewal is promised.

* The Day of the Lord is foretold - a day when history as we know it comes to a close.

* A Messiah will come.